Knapp Heritage Park: Preserving the Past in Downtown Arlington

A Rustic Reprieve

Knapp Heritage Park, a heritage site in Downtown Arlington, serves as a rustic throwback to the city’s roots. The site is one of three venues operated by the Arlington Historical Society, alongside the Fielder Museum and the Arlington Heritage Memorial Grounds.

The park contains three of Arlington’s oldest structures: the P. A. Watson Log House (1855), the Jopling-Melear Cabin (1863), and the North Side School (1909). All three are honored with Texas Historical Markers. Other preservation efforts include the Bardin blacksmith barn, the original trough bowl from Arlington’s Mineral Well, and a windmill once belonging to former Arlington Mayor George Finger. Boasting some of the largest green space in Downtown Arlington, the park offers visitors a chance to connect with nature while stepping back in time.

The Knapp Family

In 1920, William and Bessie Knapp settled on Front Street in Arlington. A prominent community leader, William managed a dry goods store, helped draft the City Charter, and was instrumental in establishing Meadowbrook Park. Their son, James H. Knapp (1914-1989), grew up in Arlington, earned his law degree in 1937, and practiced law here for over 50 years. His 1951 law office now serves as the park’s replica general store and office.

A Journey Through Time… and Arlington

In the 1970s, the cabins and schoolhouse were collected and moved to what is now the Arlington Heritage Memorial Grounds on Arkansas Lane. While placing them in a cemetery park aided preservation, it limited public access behind a locked gate. It was a better alternative to leaving them scattered and unprotected, but it wasn’t an ideal permanent home. When research later suggested the buildings might be sitting atop unmarked graves, though, all agreed a new location was needed.

In 2001, James Knapp’s grandchildren donated the use of his former law office and the site of their grandparents’ home on Front Street for a heritage park. It was decided to relocate the structures and name the site Knapp Heritage Park in the family’s honor. The move took place in December 2003. It was no easy feat—each building was carefully loaded onto flatbed trucks for a slow, coordinated three-mile caravan down Cooper Street.

Living History

With support from the family, Knapp Heritage Park was dedicated in September 2004 and soon celebrated with the inaugural Front Street Festival. The new location made the structures more accessible, providing better opportunities for educational programs and events. Over the years, the park has welcomed thousands of visitors—from AISD field trips to out-of-town guests.

The schoolhouse seems to be the most popular attraction, especially with children. There is something about a simple, one-room wooden schoolhouse that evokes a sense of nostalgia; it is a relatable yet endearing window into a different era.

A Lasting Legacy

Knapp Heritage Park celebrated its 20th anniversary in 2024 with a private BBQ dinner for the Knapp family and a day of public festivities. It was a proud milestone for both the family and the Arlington Historical Society.

Today, the park hosts several events throughout the year, including special holiday programs. Hours typically align with the Downtown Arlington Farmers Market, located just a few steps away.

Though something of a hidden gem in Downtown Arlington, Knapp Heritage Park offers a unique look at life from a different era. It is a peaceful retreat from the bustling, big-city life, showcasing our roots and the way life once was.

Knapp Heritage Park photos (from left to right)
Knapp Heritage Park entrance
James Knapp’s former law office (now a general store replica)
Jopling-Melear Cabin
P. A. Watson Log House
Bardin barn
North Side School


Visiting the Park

Knapp Heritage Park is open to the public, available for group tours, and can be rented as an event venue.

Location and Hours

  • Location: 201 W. Front Street – Arlington, TX 76011
  • Parking: Free street parking or public lots nearby
  • Hours:
    • Saturday – 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM
    • Sunday – 1:00 PM to 4:00 PM
  • Admission: Free (donations accepted)

Upcoming Events

  • April 11, 2026—Pioneer Days featuring demonstrations, activities, and family fun (free)
  • May 10, 2026—’Save The Cabins’ fundraiser concert featuring Walt Wilkins (ticketed event)

Blog post by Jason S. Sullivan, 03-19-26

Leave a comment